Skip to content

The wheel of foods

All plant and animal foods are made up of complex mixtures of chemical products and in these are the different nutrients: (water, proteins, fats, carbohydrates , vitamins, minerals and trace elements), dietary fiber, etc.

Based on the fact that no food, except breast milk, is complete (since it will always lack several nutrients), the foods have been divided into 7 groups according to their nutritional properties, forming the so-called food wheel.

The food wheel is a didactic resource that was highly promoted in Spain by the Ministry of Health in the 70-80s and that involved health and education professionals. Its main function was to promote the understanding of the basic concepts of a healthy diet and the understanding of the role of the different food groups.

Group 1: Milk and derivatives.

Dairy products: milk, yogurts, cheeses, etc., are an excellent source of calcium and proteins of high biological value. They provide, in addition to saturated fats, vitamins A, E and group B.

Group 2: Meat, fish and eggs.

The foods that make up this group are rich in proteins of high biological value and iron. They contain fat-soluble (dissolving) and B vitamins, as well as a considerable amount of saturated (insoluble) fats, in the case of meat and eggs, and unsaturated (soluble) in the case of fish.

Group 3: Legumes, nuts, potatoes, cereals and sugar.

Due to its high carbohydrate content, this group is a good source of energy. In addition to containing vitamins (vit. A), minerals (calcium, iron) and dietary fiber, these foods are rich in plant protein.

Cereals are a good source of energy due to their high starch content (slow absorption carbohydrate), as well as containing vegetable proteins, B vitamins and minerals (phosphorus). In their whole form they are an excellent source of dietary fiber.

Sugar is the essential energy due to its sucrose content but it does not contribute anything else to the body.

Group 4: Vegetables and vegetables.

Vegetables and vegetables are interesting for their low caloric value and essential for their content of vitamins A -in the form of carotene-, C and group B; in minerals, dietary fiber and phytochemicals.

Group 5: Fruits.

Fruits are the main source of vitamin C and also contain other vitamins, minerals, simple carbohydrates, dietary fiber, and phytochemicals.

Group 6: Oil and butter.

This group is made up of the visible fats in our diet that mainly provide us with energy and fat-soluble vitamins (which dissolve them).

The vegetable oil is composed of unsaturated fat (soluble), (except palm and coconut oils! -Very used in the food industry-) and provides us with essential fatty acids.

Instead, animal-based butter is made up of saturated fat (not soluble).

Website | + posts

Hello Readers, I am Nikki Bella a Psychology student. I have always been concerned about human behavior and the mental processes that lead us to act and think the way we do. My collaboration as an editor in the psychology area of ​​Well Being Pole has allowed me to investigate further and expand my knowledge in the field of mental health; I have also acquired great knowledge about physical health and well-being, two fundamental bases that are directly related and are part of all mental health.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.